Kanabec County is Included in Disaster Declaration 12 Aug 11

Kanabec County is now included in a federal disaster declaration for Public Assistance (PA) to repair infrastructure damaged during severe storms, flooding and tornadoes July 1st through July 11th.

FEMA officials say state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Kanabec County are eligible to apply for funding for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings, utilities, recreation areas and other public facilities.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Renville, Stearns, and Yellow Medicine counties and the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe were among those included in the original July 28 Public Assistance disaster declaration.