Lions’ Johnson, Vikings’ Allen lead All-Pro voting 09 Jan 12

Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson and Vikings defensive end Jared Allen garnered the most votes for the 2011 NFL All-Pro team announced Friday.

Johnson and Allen each received 49 of 50 possible votes from members of the media. Johnson caught 96 passes, including 16 touchdowns, in earning his first All-Pro vote, while Allen was named to the team for the fourth time after racking up 22 sacks – a half-sack shy of Michael Strahan’s single-season record.

Other notables included Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers clearly beating out the Saints’ Drew Brees, 47 1/2 to 2 1/2, and Jacksonville’s Maurice Jones-Drew and Philadelphia’s LeSean McCoy at running back.

The highest vote getter behind Johnson and Allen was Jets cornerback Darrelle Revis with 48, followed by Ravens outside linebacker Terrell Suggs with 47.

Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson was selected as the kick returner and is the only rookie on the squad.

New England’s Rob Gronkowski was voted in as the tight end ahead of New Orleans’ Jimmy Graham.

Gronkowski, Johnson, Jones-Drew, McCoy, Suggs and Peterson were joined by other first-time All-Pros in Saints guard Carl Nicks, Eagles left tackle Jason Peters, Steelers center Maurkice Pouncey, Giants defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul, 49ers defensive lineman Justin Smith, 49ers outside linebacker NaVorro Bowman, Chiefs linebacker Derrick Johnson and Chargers safety Eric Weddle.

The 49ers also landed both kickers on the first team in placekicker David Akers and punter Andy Lee. Along with linebacker Patrick Willis, that gave the 49ers a team-record five First-Team All-Pros.

“We’re always happy for the other guys’ success,” 49ers coach Jim Harbaugh said. “What it says is, a rising tide lifts all ships. So, we’re happy for them.”


Quarterback: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.

Running Backs: Maurice Jones-Drew, Jacksonville; LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia.

Fullback: Vonta Leach, Baltimore.

Tight End: Rob Gronkowski, New England.

Wide Receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Wes Welker, New England.

Tackles: Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Joe Thomas, Cleveland.

Guards: Carl Nicks, New Orleans; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.

Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

Placekicker: David Akers, San Francisco.

Kick Returner: Patrick Peterson, Arizona.


Ends: Jared Allen, Minnesota; Jason Pierre-Paul, New York Giants.

Tackles: Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; Justin Smith, San Francisco.

Outside Linebackers: Terrell Suggs, Baltimore; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.

Inside Linebacker: Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco, and Derrick Johnson, Kansas City.

Cornerbacks: Charles Woodson, Green Bay; Darrelle Revis, New York Jets.

Safeties: Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh; Eric Weddle, San Diego.

Punter: Andy Lee, San Francisco.




Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans.

Running Backs: Ray Rice, Baltimore; Arian Foster, Houston.

Fullback: John Kuhn, Green Bay.

Tight End: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.

Wide Receivers: Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona; Victor Cruz, New York Giants.

Tackles: Duane Brown, Houston; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.

Center: Ryan Kalil, Carolina, and Nick Mangold, New York Jets.

Placekicker: Sebastian Janikowski, Oakland.

Kick Returner: Devin Hester, Chicago.


Ends: Justin Smith, San Francisco; Jason Babin, Philadelphia.

Tackles: Geno Atkins, Cincinnatil Vince Wilfork, New England, and Richard Seymour, Oakland.

Outside Linebackers: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Von Miller, Denver.

Inside Linebackers: Brian Cushing, Houston; London Fletcher, Washington.

Cornerbacks: Johnathan Joseph, Houston; Carlos Rogers, San Francisco.

Safeties: Ed Reed, Baltimore; Earl Thomas, Seattle.

Punter: Shane Lechler, Oakland.