Commissioner Named to Transportation Committee 24 Feb 12

Kandiyohi County Commissioner Harlan Madsen was named to a new statewide transportation finance advisory committee this week by Gov. Mark Dayton.

Madsen, of rural Lake Lillian, is one of just three county commissioners selected to serve on the 14-member committee, which will work under the umbrella of the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

In making the announcement Thursday, Dayton said MnDOT Commissioner Tom Sorel was asked to “gather the best and the brightest minds together” to find new and innovative ways to finance improvements to the state’s transportation systems.

Officials say the committee will identify investment opportunities, select and analyze the potential of various revenue sources and non-traditional approaches to transportation financing, as well as examine opportunities for public-private partnerships to invest in transportation improvements that could benefit the state for the next 20 years.