Hutchinson School Board Election 14 Jun 12

Hutchinson School District residents will have the opportunity to vote for a handful of school board candidates in November.

The Hutchinson School Board this week approved resolutions for 3 school board spots that are part of the general election. They are for 4-year terms held by Julie Ashbaugh, Jim Waldron, and Board Chair Keith Kamrath.

The Board also approved a resolution for two more spots that are designated as a special election that will coincide with the general election on November 6th. Those two spots are to fill vacancies in terms expiring January 1st , 2015, currently held by Byron Bettenhausen and Don Martinez, who were appointed to fill the spots that were held by Tim Kerkvliet and Mike McGraw, who left before their terms were up, due to personal reasons.

Superintendent Daron VanderHeiden says he’s already had one inquiry from a resident that was interested in what the position requires. VanderHeiden says anyone interested can call him or any board member to get more information.

The filing window for candidates begins July 31st and runs through 5pm, August 14th and must be filed with the school district clerk.

Josh Gehlen holds the only spot on the board not up for election.