Fire Danger Remains High 07 Oct 12

Drought conditions, high winds and acres of dry fuel in fields, ditches and grasslands have made the region ripe for fires.

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is adding counties in the central and southeast portions of the state to the burning restrictions already in place in northwestern and north-central Minnesota. The additional counties will be placed under tighter restrictions beginning at 1 a.m. on Sunday, Oct. 7.

The new counties having limitations placed on campfires and open burning include: Aitkin, Anoka, Carlton, Carver, Cass, Chisago, Crow Wing, Dakota, Fillmore, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Isanti, Olmsted, Pine, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Wabasha, Washington, Winona, and Wright.

These counties are in addition to the 22 counties that were put under restrictions on Sept. 23. There are now 43 counties under the Commissioner’s Order, prohibiting open fires other than the types of campfires described below, which can be no more than 3 feet in diameter and height.

Campfires or recreational fires outside municipalities are allowed only in a designated receptacle designed for such use and associated with a residence, staffed campgrounds such as state parks, or resorts. No burning permits will be issued to the general public and use of fireworks will not be allowed outside of municipalities.

For complete information, click here.