Seimone Augustus Named to 2012 All-WNBA First Team 17 Oct 12

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – The WNBA today announced that Minnesota Lynx shooting guard Seimone Augustus was named to the 2012 All-WNBA First Team, while Maya Moore and Lindsay Whalen were selected to the All-WNBA Second Team. The honor marks the first time in her career that Augustus has been selected to the All-WNBA First Team, previously being voted to the All-WNBA Second Team in 2006, 2007 and 2011. It is also the first time Lindsay Whalen has been selected to the All-WNBA Second Team, previously earning All-WNBA First Team honors in 2008 and 2011. This is Moore’s first selection to the All-WNBA Second Team.

This season, Augustus averaged a team-best 16.6 points per game (9th in the league), while ranking in the top 15 of all three shooting categories – 13th in field goal accuracy (49.1%), 4th in three-point accuracy (43.7%) and 11th in free throw percentage (85.2%). She passed Katie Smith as the franchise leader in scoring on September 4 against Los Angeles, finishing the season with 3,684 points in her Lynx career.

Moore improved her averages across the board from her rookie campaign, averaging 16.4 points (11th), 6.0 rebounds (14th), 3.6 assists (14th) and 1.5 steals (16th) in a team-best 29.7 minutes per game. She had an especially strong second half for the Lynx, averaging 19.4 points, 7.5 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 1.7 steals per game over the last 17 games of the season.

Whalen finished the season ranked third on the team in scoring (11.5 ppg), while being named the WNBA Peak Performer for assists, leading the league in both assists (178) and assists per game (5.4). She became the franchise leader in assists, finishing the season with 561 in a Lynx uniform, surpassing Katie Smith. This postseason, Whalen is averaging 12.0 points, 4.3 assists and 3.0 rebounds per game.

Joining Augustus on the All-WNBA First Team is Los Angeles forward Candace Parker, Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, Connecticut center Tina Charles and New York guard Cappie Pondexter. San Antonio forward Sophia Young, Chicago center Sylvia Fowles and Los Angeles guard Kristi Toliver round out the All-WNBA Second Team.