Carter gets call to Canton 04 Feb 13

Eden Prairie, MN (February 2, 2013) – Former Vikings WR Cris Carter was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame today. Chosen by the Hall’s Board of Selectors, Carter joins 11 former Vikings who have also earned the prestigious honor. He will be enshrined in Canton on Saturday, August 3rd, 2013, along with Larry Allen, Curley Culp, Jonathan Odgen, Bill Parcells, Dave Robinson and Warren Sapp.

“The Vikings are thrilled that Cris has been selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame,” said Vikings Owner/Chairman Zygi Wilf. “For over a decade Cris entertained Vikings fans with his trademark great catches and competitiveness, as he became one of the most beloved players in franchise history. Cris represented the Vikings organization in a first-class manner both on and off the field. We appreciate his place in Minnesota Vikings history, and we look forward to seeing him enshrined in Canton later this year.”

A fourth-round pick of the Philadelphia Eagles in the 1987 supplemental draft, Carter spent 16 seasons in the NFL, including 12 in Minnesota after being cut by the Eagles just prior to the 1990 season. From 1990-2001, Carter’s skills, durability and tireless work ethic allowed him to re-write the Vikings record book and establish marks that will not be challenged for years to come. He continues to be the franchise leader in receptions (1,004), receiving yards (12,383), receiving touchdowns (110) and 100-yard receiving games (40). His 111 consecutive games with a reception are also a team record that will likely go unmatched.

Carter played in 188 games as a Viking, starting 177. He was named to the NFL’s 1990s All-Decade Team, earned eight-straight Pro Bowl berths from 1993-2000 and was selected as an All-Pro four times. For his career, Carter totaled 1,101 receptions for 13,899 yards and 130 TDs. His reception and touchdown totals rank 4th all-time in NFL history.

Off the field, Carter was named the recipient of the Byron “Whizzer” White Award by the NFLPA and the Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1999.

This is the second consecutive year and the sixth in the last eight years that the Vikings have had a former player elected to the Hall of Fame (Cris Carter-2013, Chris Doleman-2012, John Randle-2010, Randall McDaniel-2009, Gary Zimmerman-2008, Warren Moon-2006).