A number of hoopsters get academic awards 12 Apr 13

A Few teams and invididual have been honored for their academic prowess in High School Basketball. On the Boys Side, The Waconia Wildcats were named as the Class 3A Academic State Champions. Individually, Zach Whitchurch of Litchfield was named to the Academic All State team. In Girls Basketball, GFW received a Gold Academic award for a cumulative GPA of over 3.75. While 9 schools received Silver Academic Awards for GPA’s over 3.5. They include Sibley East, Annandale, Mayer Lutheran, Watertown Mayer, Kimball, EVW, GSL, and Dassel Cokato. Individually 23 Girls hoopsters were named to the Academic All State Team. They include:

Krista Lange, Morgan Roush, and Rachel Heuer of LP/HT

Taylor Ebnet of BOLD

Eve Bleick of GFW

Kaitlyn Kuefler of Annandale

Brooke Raether of NYA

Alissa Jones and Paiten Schreiner of Kimball

Emily Johnson, Nico Schmidt, Ashlyn Hucky and Holly Johnson of Mayer Lutheran

Kate Theisen and Hannah Johnson of WM

Greta Walsh, Kelsey Fischer, and Alexi Besser of Litchfield

Courtney Wolff, Kelly Beneke, and Alex Stensvad of GSL

Anna Webster of DC

And Morgan Iverson of Waconia