Dayton Declares Peacetime Emergency 04 Jul 13

Governor Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency in 26

Minnesota counties hit by storms, flash floods and massive power

outages last month.

The June storms downed power lines, toppled trees, sucked chunks

of roadway down sinkholes and pushed rivers over their banks across

the state. More than half a million customers lost power around the

Twin Cities in the immediate aftermath of the storms, and communities

and homeowners are still digging out from the mess.

Wednesday’s executive order declares a state of peacetime

emergency in Aitkin, Benton, Big Stone, Carver, Douglas, Faribault,

Fillmore, Freeborn, Hennepin, Houston, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker,

Mille Lacs, Pine, Pope, Renville, Ramsey, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens,

Swift, Traverse, Wilkin, Winona, and Wright counties.

The declaration is part of the process that will allow the state

to call for federal disaster assistance in the areas hit hardest by

the storms.

Minnesota officials have already asked the Federal Emergency

Management Agency to conduct damage assessments in the affected

counties. The federal government will not step in until the cost of

cleanup from a disaster tops $7.26 million, but state officials expect

Minnesota’s cleanup costs to exceed that figure.