USA Hockey names Mens and Womens team 02 Jan 14

USA Hockey  has announced the 25 players that will make up its 2014 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team here today as part of the festivities at the 2014 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic. The announcement was made at Michigan Stadium before a world-record crowd and also broadcast live on NBC Sports in the United States.  The roster includes 13 Olympians, a stark contrast to four years ago when the silver medal-winning 2010 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team featured just three players with Olympic experience. Among those selected include Wild forward Zach Parise and Wild Defenseman Ryan Suter.  6 other Minnesotans were selected including: Blues Captain David Backes, The Rangers’ Ryan McDonagh and Derek Stepan, Pittsburgh’s Paul Martin, Carolina’s Justin Faulk, Winnepeg’s Blake Wheeler, and St. Louis’ TJ Oshie. 

David Poile, general manager of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey says they are fortunate to have probably the deepest talent pool ever in our country and that made for some very difficult decisions. In the end, however, they are confident the group puts the USA in the best position to have success in Sochi.

Over on the Women’s side there were 7 former or current Minnesota Gophers named to the roster:  Lee Stecklein, Anne Schleper, Megan Bozek, Gigi Marvin, Amanda Kessel, plus sisters Monique and Jocelyn Lamoureak.  The USA women finished 2nd in the 2010 Olympic Games, behind Canada.