Update-Candidate Filings 28 May 14

Hutchinson City Councilor Bill Arndt announced at Tuesday night’s city council meeting that he will not be seeking reelection to the council. He also said he will not be running for mayor either.

Arndt has been on the city council for 12 years.

To date (5/29/14), Hutchinson Mayor Steve Cook has filed for reelection. Councilor Gary Forcier has filed to run for mayor also.

Councilor Mary Christensen has filed for re-election.

The filing deadline is Tuesday, June 3rd.

Those filing for McLeod County positions include:

McLeod County Commissioner District 2, Kermit Terlinden of Glencoe.

McLeod County Commissioner District 5, Jon Christensen of Hutchinson, Joe Nagel of Hutchinson, and Bill Hard of Hutchinson have filed.

Republican State Representative Dean Urdahl of Acton Township, Meeker County has filed for reelection in District 18-A and Republican State Representative Glenn Gruenhagen of Glencoe has filed for reelection to District 18-B.

Republican State Senator Scott Newman of Hutchinson is scheduled to announce his intention today (Thursday).