MSHSL sets District Scheduling for Football 02 Jun 14

               Minnesota State High School League schools should no longer have a reason to travel far out of state to find football opponents or play less than an eight-game regular season football schedule. The League Board of Directors today unanimously adopted a plan that places all member schools with football programs into Districts. The members of each district will divide the district into sub-districts, and then create a full schedule for each team. In nearly all cases the placement of schools will not negatively affect traditional rivalries or preferred opponents.

                For several years League staff, school administrators and football coaches have sought a solution for schools that have had difficulty filling their regular season football schedule. A committee of coaches, athletic administrators and Board members developed a District Football Scheduling System that was approved by the Board in January. A separate District Placement Committee made up of coaches and administrators worked hard to group schools into districts based on enrollment, geography and like schools, while also considering individual school preferences for maintaining traditional opponents.

            “Everyone needs to keep in mind that this is just a step in the process of developing actual schedules for our member schools,” explained Associate Director Kevin Merkle in presenting the plan to the Board. “Some districts have a wide range in school enrollment and geography, but once the districts determine their sub-district alignments, most of the enrollment and geographical issues will be solved.”

            The recommendation approved by the Board of Directors included:

  • ·         Placement of all schools in a scheduling district
  • ·         Final decision on appeals from schools who requested to be placed in 9-Man
  • ·         Bylaws to guide the work of each district
  • ·         Allowing limited inter-district play upon approval of the Board of Directors
  • ·         A plan for the initial meetings for each district that will be lead by members of the District Football Placement Committee.

            The 10-member District Football Placement Committee met five times since mid-March to place schools in districts, using enrollment, geography, like schools and current conference membership and current opponents as key criteria. Schools were given the opportunity to provide information to the committee in advance, including three teams that they would like to continue to schedule. Those requests were reviewed carefully and were met to the extent possible. More than 90 percent of the schools’ requests were met, and a significant majority of schools were placed in a district with most, if not all, of the schools that they now play.

            Districts will have initial meetings in the near future to discuss the placements and the next steps in the process. The next major step will be for districts to decide on sub-district alignments. Once that is completed, schedules for the 2015 and 2016 seasons can be developed. The goal is for all schools to have a complete schedule for both years by Nov. 1, 2014.

            “We are indebted to the members of the District Football Placement Committee for their diligence and hard work in this process,” Merkle told the Board, “They put in an extraordinary amount of time and effort and their focus was always on doing what was best for our member schools and their students.”

Here are the Districts the KDUZ/KARP/KGLB Area Schools have been entered into:

District:  South Central
District Map
Albert Lea High School
Belle Plaine H.S.
Blue Earth Area High School
Fairmont High School
G-F-W High School
Jackson County Central High School
Jordan High School
Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial
Lester Prairie \ Holy Trinity
LeSueur-Henderson High School
Luverne High School
Maple River High School
Marshall High School
Martin County West H.S.
Mayer Lutheran High School
New Richland-H-E-G H.S.
New Ulm High School
Norwood-Young America High School
Pipestone Area High School
Redwood Valley High School
Saint James Area
Sibley East High School
St. Peter High School
Tri-City United High School
Waseca High School
Waterville-Elysian-Morristown H.S.
Windom Area High School
Worthington High School
District:  East Central
District Map
Albany High School
Annandale High School
Becker High School
Dassel-Cokato High School
Delano High School
Foley High School
Glencoe-Silver Lake High School
Holy Family Catholic High School
Hutchinson High School
Litchfield High School
Little Falls High School
Milaca High School
New London-Spicer High School
St. Cloud Cathedral
Watertown-Mayer High School
Zimmerman High School
District:  Mid State
District Map
Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City H.S.
B O L D High School
Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa H.S.
Benson High School
Browerville H.S.
Eden Valley-Watkins High School
Holdingford High School
Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted H.S.
Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg H.S.
Kimball Area High School
Maple Lake High School
Melrose Area High School
Minnewaska Area H.S.
Montevideo High School
Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Paynesville Area High School
Pierz High School
Prairie Valley Nighthawks
Rockford High School
Royalton High School
Sauk Centre High School
West Central Area School
Yellow Medicine East H.S.
District:  Suburban
District Map
Academy of Holy Angels
Benilde-St. Margaret’s School
Bloomington Jefferson High School
Bloomington Kennedy High School
Chanhassen High School
Chaska High School
DeLaSalle High School
Irondale High School
Orono High School
Park Center High School
Richfield High School
Robbinsdale Armstrong High School
Robbinsdale Cooper High School
Spring Lake Park High School
St. Louis Park High School
Waconia High School