Dayton Declares Emergency in 35 MN Counties 20 Jun 14

Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton declared a state of emergency in 35 counties and announced that he, along with U.S. Senators Al Franken and Amy Klobuchar and U.S. Rep. Tim Walz, would visit hard-hit communities in southern Minnesota today (Friday).

He also directed the state’s National Guard to send 100 soldiers to fight flooding on the Rainy River and Rainy Lake in northern Minnesota’s Koochiching County.

The rain stopped Thursday night, and for the most part, today (Friday) should be dry, but that won’t improve the flooding outlook. By the weekend, the runoff will have worked its way into rivers. The National Weather Service warned that major flooding could be ahead on the Mississippi in St. Paul; the Crow River in Delano, Rockford and Mayer, and in parts of the Minnesota River Valley.

Thirty-five of the state’s 87 counties were included in the governor’s disaster declaration, which makes many state government resources available to local efforts underway to minimize flood damage or to clean up what has been waterlogged or washed away.

The 35 counties are Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Koochiching, McLeod, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, St. Louis, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd and Waseca.