Whalen named an all star again 16 Jul 14

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – The WNBA tonight announced Lynx players Seimone Augustus and Lindsay Whalen were voted by coaches as reserves for the 2014 Western Conference All-Star team. Augustus (2006, 2007, 2011, 2013) will be making her fifth career All-Star appearance, while Whalen (2006, 2011, 2013) is making her fourth career All-Star appearance, joining Maya Moore, who was named All-Star starter last Tuesday. The Lynx trio will be coached in this year’s game by head coach Cheryl Reeve, who is joined on the bench by assistants Shelley Patterson and Jim Petersen. 

This year marks the third time in franchise history the Lynx have had three representatives at the All-Star Game (2011, 2013). The Phoenix Mercury will host the Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game at US Airways Center on Saturday, July 19, and the game will be nationally televised on ESPN, with tip-off at 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT).

In her ninth year with the Minnesota Lynx, Augustus is averaging 17.2 points, 2.9 rebounds and 2.1 assists in 15 games this season. She tallied a game- and season-high 26 points June 8 at Los Angeles, pushing her franchise-record total of career 20+ points effort to 100 (four in 2014). Augustus is the franchise leader in points (4446), games played (239) and she passed Katie Smith (7,287) as the franchise’s career leader in minutes played earlier this season.

Playing in her fourth season in Minnesota and 11th in the WNBA, Whalen is averaging 15.0 points, 5.6 assists and 4.3 rebounds per game on 50.2% shooting from the floor this season. In her career she has posted 12 points/assists double-doubles, including 10 in a Lynx uniform and recorded five games with 20+ points and 10+ assists. In five July contests this season, Whalen is averaging 15.2 points (53.8%), 6.8 assists and 5.8 rebounds per game. Entering Wednesday’s game vs. Tulsa, she ranks third in assists (5.6 apg), 12th in scoring (15.0 ppg) and 12th in field goal accuracy (50.2%).

Joining Augustus as frontcourt reserves are Los Angeles’ Nneka Ogwumike, Candice Dupree of the Phoenix Mercury and Glory Johnson of the Tulsa Shock, while Danielle Robinson of the San Antonio Stars joins Whalen as a reserve in the backcourt. For the Eastern Conference, Chiney Ogwumike of Connecticut, Tina Charles of the New York Liberty, Jessica Breland of the Chicago Sky, and Erika de Souza of the Atlanta Dream will serve as frontcourt reserves. Katie Douglas of the Sun and Briann January of the Indiana Fever were both voted in as backcourt reserves. All-Star reserves were selected by the league’s 12 head coaches. Coaches were permitted to vote for players on their own team and selected reserves by voting for six players – two guards, three posts and one player regardless of position – within their own conference.

Alongside Moore, starters for the Western Conference include Los Angeles’ Candace Parker, and Phoenix’s Brittney Griner and Diana Taurasi and Tulsa’s Skylar Diggins. The Eastern Conference starters are Atlanta’s Angel McCoughtry and Shoni Shcimmel, Chicago’s Elena Delle Donne, New York’s Cappie Pondexter and Indiana’s Tamika Catchings.

Replacement players, who will take the roster spot of players who cannot play due to injury, will be named by WNBA President Laurel J. Richie on July 16. Any changes to the starting lineup necessitated by injury would subsequently be made by the head coach of the respective team.