24 MN Counties Added to Disaster Declaration 02 Aug 14

(St. Paul, MN) — Twenty-four Minnesota counties and two tribal governments have been added to the federal disaster declaration secured by Governor Dayton last month.

Earlier this week, Director Kris Eide with Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management requested that FEMA add 30 counties to the disaster declaration. Six counties (Dakota, Hennepin, Lyon, Ramsey, Watonwan, Wright) remain under review by FEMA.

Under a presidential disaster declaration, FEMA funds 75-percent of approved costs for repairing public infrastructure, with the state funding the remaining share.

Eight counties had already received the designation after severe storms and flooding in June. Counties/tribal governments added to declaration: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dodge, Faribault, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, , Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, , Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, and Yellow Medicine counties and the tribal governments of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community.