Names of New Ulm Diocese Priests Released 05 Aug 14

The names of eight priests accused of sexually abusing children in the New Ulm Diocese have been made public.

Victim’s attorney Jeff Anderson released the names of the priests that came out during a recent deposition of Father Francis Garvey, who was once a top church official.

Anderson says he made those names public in the interest of public safety. 

Anderson says there could be victims who have not come forward. 

New Ulm is the only Minnesota Diocese that has not released its internal list of credibly accused priests.

The priests named by Father Garvey in the deposition include Father David Roney, Father Francis Markey, Father Vincent Fitzgerald, Father William Marks, Father Michael Skoblik, Father John Gleason, Father Douglas Schleisman and Father John Murphy. Schleisman is reportedly the only priest of the eight still living.