Gopher Baseball starts Big Ten Tournament 24 May 17

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Minnesota will throw the first pitch of the Big Ten baseball tournament, facing Indiana to start the eight-team event.

The third seed Gophers will get the double-elimination bracket going Wednesday morning against the sixth seed Hoosiers, who are hosting this year .

First-time regular season champion Nebraska will play eighth seed Purdue. Second seed Michigan will face seventh seed Northwestern. Fourth seed Maryland and fifth seed Iowa will square off in the last of the four Wednesday openers.

The championship is Sunday afternoon with an NCAA tournament automatic bid for the winner, which was Ohio State last year. Minnesota and Nebraska received at-large bids to the NCAA tournament in 2016.

The Big Ten tournament began in 1981. Michigan, Minnesota and Ohio State have the most titles with nine apiece.